Showing posts with label AVG 2012. Show all posts
Showing posts with label AVG 2012. Show all posts

How to disable Data Execution Prevention (DEP)

To disable the Data Execution Prevention (DEP) feature in Microsoft Windows:


1. On the taskbar, click Start -> Control Panel -> System (or "System and Maintenance").
2. Click Advanced (or "Advanced system settings").
3. If prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide the confirmation.
4. Under Performance, click Settings.
5. Click the Data Execution Prevention tab, and then click "Turn off DEP for essential Windows programs and services only."
6. Confirm all changes by clicking OK.

How to Start AVG Watchdog

First we need to do is to check whether AVG WatchDog service is running and started. To check the service follow these steps:

1. Click Start.
2. Click Run or type in the Start Search field.
3. Type "services.msc" (without the quotation mark) and press Enter.
4. On the Services (local) window, look for AVG WatchDog and double click it.
5. On the AVG WatchDog properties window, look for startup type, click the dropdown menu and select Automatic.
6. Under services status, click Start.
7. Click Apply and then click OK.
8. Close the Services window.
9. Restart the computer.

AVG Scan crashes

Follow these steps to provide AVG Support further information and can investigate your issue more in detail.

A) Generate application and system event logs and send it to AVG Support.
To generate event logs from your computer:

In Windows XP:
1. On the taskbar, click Start, and then click Run (or the Start Search field).
2. Type eventvwr.msc and then press ENTER.
3. In the left navigational tree, click Application.
4. On the Action menu, click "Save Log File As."
5. Type the appropriate file name (for example application.evt), and then save the file to your Desktop.
6. Repeat steps 3 through 5, but this time click System, and then save the log file as "system.evt".

In Windows Vista/7:
1. On the taskbar, click Start, and then click Run (or the Start Search field).
2. Type eventvwr.msc and then press ENTER.
3. In the left pane of the new window, expand "Windows logs" (if available), and then click "Application."
4. In the Action menu, click "Save (All) Events As," and then type "application" as the file name.
5. Save the file to the Desktop.
6. Repeat steps 3 through 5, but this time in the left pane select "System," and then save the event log as "system.evtx".

B) Send AVG Support all the files from the following folders, if they contain any:

Windows XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AVG2012\Dumps
C:\Windows\Minidump

Windows Vista/7:
C:\ProgramData\AVG2012\Dumps
C:\Windows\Minidump

Note that some folders could be hidden by default Windows settings.
To view hidden files and folders:
1. On the taskbar, click Start -> (Settings) -> Control Panel -> (Appearance and Personalization) -> Folder options.
2. Click the View tab.
3. Click "Show hidden files and folders" (the name may vary depending on the operating system).
4. Click OK.

C) Send the AVG configuration and .log files for analysis to AVG Support.
To send these files:

1. Download runner.avgdx on this link:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/runner_en.exe

2. Double-click the file, the AVG Diagnostics tool will start automatically.
3. Type your e-mail address and a detailed issue description into the appropriate areas. Please remember to attach the files saved in steps A and B.
4. Click "Diagnose and send results."

AVG Support will analyze this data and contact you with further information.

AVG 2012 can't remove Virus infection

Follow these steps and provide AVG Support with the results:

A) Apply all the available patches for your Microsoft Windows operating system from the following Web site:
http://www.windowsupdate.com
This step is extremely important as viruses can exploit security holes in outdated operating systems.

B) Update your AVG by opening the AVG Program and clicking Update now.

C) Enabling the "Scan files on close" feature in AVG Resident Shield increases system protection.
To enable this feature:
1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, Advanced settings.
3. On the left tree menu, click Anti-Virus -> Resident Shield.
4. Select the "Scan files on close" check box, and then click OK.

D) Run the "Whole computer scan" test. (Scan now in AVG User Interface)

E) Check the list of processes running on your computer for any suspicious files.

To provide us with this list:
1. Download the AVG Service Utility from this location to your Desktop and run it:
http://ddownload.avg.com/tific/tool1.exe/AVG_ClickNFix_178022_en_US.exe

2. Follow the instructions displayed on your screen.

F) Send also the AVG Diagnostics output:
1. Download the AVG Service Utility from this location to your Desktop:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avgfwdiag2012_en.exe

2. Double-click the file, the AVG Diagnostics tool will start automatically.
3. Type your e-mail address, a detailed issue description, and the answers to the following questions into the appropriate areas:

- Is the virus detected by the "Whole computer scan" test?
- Is the virus detected only by AVG Resident Shield?
- Is it possible to Delete, Heal or Move to Vault this infected file?
- Is the virus detected repeatedly? Is it the same file?
- When is the infected file detected? After restarting the computer or after connecting to the Internet?

4. Click "Diagnose and send results.”
5. Disable the "Scan files on close" option described in procedure C.

AVG Support will analyze this data and contact you with further information.

How to Add/Remove AVG 2012 Components

To add or remove AVG components:
1. Verify that you have administrative rights on the computer:

2. Go to this Web page for the latest installation file:

http://www.avg.com/download.prd-avc.line-2012
(AVG Anti-Virus 2012)
http://www.avg.com/download.prd-isc.line-2012
(AVG Internet Security 2012)

3. Click the "Download" button, and when asked, choose to save the file.
4. Save the file to the Desktop.
5. Double-click the AVG installation file on your Desktop.
6. Proceed through the installation steps and when prompted, choose the "Add or remove components" option.
7. Confirm your current AVG License Number, or replace it with a new one if you have changed your AVG edition, and then click Next.
8. When presented with a list of available components, select (install) or un-tick (uninstall if already installed, or do not install) any of these components.
9. When finished, restart the computer.

What to do if sending of AVG Diagnostic data fails?

When communicating with AVG Customer Services, you may be asked to use the AVG Diagnostic utility (AVGdiagex). This speeds up the process of solving your request.

This utility is sending encoded data through the HTTP protocol over the Internet. As sometimes the connection may not transmit all the data due to error on the way, the data will not be received. In such case, the AVG Diagnostic will inform you about this.

The data are however collected before sending, so they are still present on your computer. You can send them manually through e-mail. To do that, follow these steps:

1. Use AVG's automatic One click fix tool:
Please click the following link and save the tool to your computer (e.g. Desktop):
Automatic One click fix tool

After the download is finished, double click the tool to run it (if you are using firewall, please allow the communication). The tool is fully automatic. If any user interaction is required, all instructions will be displayed in the window.

The tool will gather all needed files and upload them to our FTP server. When the tool has finished, please copy the resulting filename and send it to us in an e-mail message.

2. Use the manual solution:
  • Open the folder with temporary files located in C:\Windows\Temp. Alternatively, you can open the folder this way:
    • Click Start and select the Run... option (on Windows Vista and Windows 7 type directly into the search field).
    • Type in %systemroot%\temp.
    • Hit Enter.
  • In the opened Temp folder browse to folder named avgdiagex.
  • Inside, you will find another folder(s) starting with avgdiagex followed by random numbers (e.g. avgdiagex1846). If there are no such folders, please run the diagnostic utility again.
  • Open the folder with the highest number at the end.
  • Send all files in that folder (their extension will be .cab).

AVG 2012 Installation Guide

Introduction

The AVG installation wizard will walk you through the process of installing or uninstalling AVG on your computer. We recommend that you always use the latest installation file. This will guarantee that you have the highest possible level of protection, and fewer update files will need to be downloaded following the installation.

Either a full installation file or AVG Online installer can be downloaded. While the full installation file is a large file to download and contains all files needed for AVG installation, AVG Online installer is small and downloads only the files necessary to install the purchased edition of AVG.

Please note that the steps mentioned below are similar for both installation file types. Any differences in the installation process between these two file types will be described in the respective step.

The first step is to select the language you want to use during the AVG installation process. The initial dialog contains a drop-down menu with all language options for the setup. Later on, it will be possible choose which languages will be installed with the product. You can then switch between the selected languages after AVG is installed.
The welcome screen also contains the license agreement. The AVG license agreement is a legal document specifying the conditions of AVG software usage. To proceed with the installation, you need to go through the license agreement and click Accept.

License activation

Now you need to enter your AVG license number. We recommend that you copy and paste the license number from the e-mail AVG sent you after the purchase.
 After the license is entered, click Next to proceed to the next step.

System state check

The installation wizard will now check whether there are any incompatible applications on your computer. If such an application is detected, the installation wizard will inform you. We recommend uninstalling any detected incompatible software to prevent future problems with stability or computer performance. After doing so, please restart the AVG installation.
 If no incompatible application is found, the installation will proceed to the next step automatically.

Installation type selection

Depending on whether AVG is already present on your computer, you will be offered different options in this step.
If there is no previous version of AVG installed on the computer, you will be able to choose between the Quick Install and Custom Install options:
  • Quick Install is the recommended choice for most users and will not prompt you for a detailed configuration.
  • With the Custom Install option, you can change installation settings, manually select the AVG components you wish to install, etc.
If AVG software is already installed on the computer, you will be presented with three different choices:
  • The Add or remove components option will allow you to install additional components to your AVG (e.g. when you are upgrading to a higher AVG edition), or to remove components in case you do not want to use them.
  • The Repair installation option can be used to fix AVG by replacing corrupted or missing files in the installed AVG software.
  • The Uninstall product option will remove the installed AVG.
 After choosing one of the available options, click Next  to proceed to the next step.

Components selection

This step is only displayed if you previously selected the Custom installation or Add or remove components options. You can skip this dialog (by clicking Next) if it does not concern you.
This dialog allows you to choose what parts of AVG will be installed. You can select or deselect any of the options. If the check box next to the item is not checked, the relevant part will not be available after the installation is completed. If the check box is checked, the option will be installed. In addition to the components designed for protecting your computer from security threats, the Additional installed languages option allows you to choose which languages can be available in AVG after installation. The language used in the installation wizard is always used as the default selection.
Note: You may see a different number of components when installing your AVG. The available components are displayed based on the AVG edition you have purchased.
Click Next to proceed with the installation.

AVG Security Toolbar

You will be asked whether you want to install the AVG Security Toolbar.

 After you click the Next button, the installation process will begin.

Installation progress

Please wait while the files are being copied on the computer (the window may become non-responsive for a short period during the installation). If you are using the AVG Online Installer, all needed files will be downloaded now.
After the installation is finished, the installation result will appear. The result screen also enables you to register the program to get up-to-date product information and news.
You will be asked to restart the computer at this point. Please restart the computer as some parts of AVG will not be able to work correctly until this is done.
Congratulations, your AVG 2012 is now installed.

Manual sending of AVG Diagnostic results to AVG

Follow these steps:

To send the diagnostic information:
1. On the taskbar, click Start, and then click Run (or the Start Search field).
2. Type %systemroot%\temp and then press ENTER.
3. Locate the avgdiagex folder, and then open it.
4. Open the avgdiagex***** (***** signifies a number) folder with the highest number.
5. Attach the .cab file in this folder to an e-mail to us for further analysis.
6. If there are more .cab files, attach each one to a separate e-mail (always as a reply to this e-mail, so that all files are delivered correctly).

Files can be also uploaded to AVG FTP server:

FTP Server: ftp://ftp.avg.com/incoming/
Username: anonymous
Password: your e-mail address

7. Inform AVG Support of the filename when uploaded.

If there is no "avgdiagex" folder, it is likely that a previous report was deleted. If this is the case, please use the AVG Diagnostic tool to generate a new report.
1. Run the runner.avgdx tool previously received via e-mail.
2. Type your e-mail address in the appropriate area, and then click “Diagnose and send results.”
3. If sending the results is not successful, open the avgdiagex***** folder previously mentioned.
4. Send the whole content of this folder along with an issue description.

How to send the AVG 2012 diagnostics to AVG Support

To send the AVG configuration and log files to AVG Support:

1. Click following link to download the AVG service utility to your computer (we recommend saving it to your Desktop):
http://ddownload.avg.com/tific/tool1.exe/AVG_ClickNFix_178603_en_US.exe

2. Double-click the utility to launch it.
3. Follow the on screen instructions to send AVG diagnostic data to AVG FTP server.

AVG Support will analyze this data and contact you with further instructions.

Computer Slows down after installing AVG 2012

Follow these steps:

A) Is there an AVG test running at the time the slowdown is apparent?
- Open the AVG Program and check whether there is a running test displayed in the left part of the window.

B) What processes are using the most CPU?

To find out this information:
1. Press CTRL+SHIFT+ESC.
2. In the new window, click the Processes tab.
3. Click the CPU header to sort the list by CPU usage.

C) During which activities do you observe the slowdown (going through your files, browsing the Internet, etc.)?

D) Does disabling some components change the situation? Please disable only one component at a time and check whether the slowdown still occurs:

1. Resident Shield (click the Anti-Virus component in AVG and clear the "Enable Resident Shield" checkbox -> Save changes).
2. Online Shield (click the LinkScanner component and clear the "Enable Online Shield" checkbox -> Save changes).
3. LinkScanner (click the LinkScanner component and clear the "Enable Search-Shield" and "Enable Surf-Shield" checkboxes -> Save changes).
4. Firewall (click the Firewall component and click "Firewall is disabled" -> Save changes).
5. Identity Protection (click the Identity Protection component and clear the "Activate Identity Protection" check box -> Save changes).
6. Cache Server (click the Tools -> Advanced settings -> Anti-Virus -> Cache Server and clear the "Caching enabled" checkbox -> OK).

E) Do you use any other anti-virus or security product on your computer?

F) Use the AVG Diagnostics tool to help AVG Support diagnose the problem.

To provide the results of the AVG Diagnostics tool:
1. Download runner.avgdx on this link:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/runner_en.exe

2. Double-click the saved file, the tool will start automatically.
3. Type your e-mail address and a detailed issue description into the appropriate areas.
4. Click "Diagnose and send results.”

AVG Support will analyze this data and contact you with further information.

How to enable TDI debugging

To enable TDI debugging in AVG 2012:

1. Update your AVG Program to the latest program and virus database versions (if possible).
2. Download the AVG Service Utility from this location to your Desktop:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avgfwdiag2012_en.exe

3. Double-click the downloaded utility to run it.
4. Follow the instructions displayed on your screen.

How to disable AVG Network Redirector ( AVG TDI driver)

To disable the TDI driver:

1. On the Desktop, right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
2. If the option is available, click the Hardware tab.
3. Click Device Manager.
4. On the View menu, click "Show hidden devices."
5. Expand the "Non-Plug and Play Drivers" option.
6. Right click "AVG TDI driver" (or "AVG Network Redirector") and then select "Disable."
7. Confirm disabling of the driver and restart of computer.

How to import modified CFE in AVG Firewall

To import the Firewall configuration file:

1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. In the left pane, click General.
4. Under "Settings management" click Import.
5. In the opened dialog box, click Yes and then select the "modified_FW.cfe" file you downloaded to your Desktop.
6. Click Open.
7. Click Apply, and then click OK.
8. Restart the computer.

How to Disable AVG Firewall

To temporarily disable AVG Firewall:

1. Open AVG.
2. Click on Firewall component.
3. Select Firewall disabled, and then click Save changes. When prompted, confirm turning off the Firewall.

How to run AVG Firewall Diagnostics

Follow these steps to help us find the cause of the issue:

1.Update your AVG Program to the latest program and virus database versions (if possible).
2. Download the AVG Service Utility from this location to your Desktop:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avgfwdiag2012_en.exe

3. Run the utility.
4. Follow the instructions displayed on your screen.

AVG Firewall Error

To rectify your issue, take the following steps:

A) Check whether any program on your computer might be in conflict with AVG Firewall (such as another firewall, network filtering/monitoring utility, or anti-virus), try to remove the conflicting program.

B) If no conflicting program is installed, try resetting the Firewall configuration, this will resolve issues caused by a corrupted configuration:

To reset the Firewall configuration:
1. Open the AVG Program.
2. Click the Firewall component.
3. Click Regenerate configuration.
4. Follow the displayed steps to reset your firewall configuration.
5. Restart the computer.

After restarting the computer, you may be presented with AVG Firewall dialogs related to applications you have previously allowed or blocked.

C) If the issue persists, perform a repair installation of AVG

To perform a repair installation of AVG:
1. Download the latest installation file from this webpage:

http://www.avg.com/download.prd-isc.line-2012
(AVG Internet Security 2012)

2. Click the "Download" button, and when asked, choose to save the file.
3. Choose the Desktop, and then click Save.
4. Double-click the AVG installation file.
5. Click Repair installation and follow the wizard.
6. When the installation is complete, restart the computer.

D) If the issue persists even after the repair installation, send AVG Support the diagnostic data from your computer.

To send AVG Support the diagnostic data:
1. Download runner.avgdx on this link:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/runner_en.exe

2. Double-click the file, the AVG Diagnostics tool will start automatically.
3. Type your e-mail address and a detailed issue description into the appropriate areas.
4. Click "Diagnose and send results.”

This will provide AVG Support with additional program data and log files, which will allow them to further analyze the issue and find the proper solution.

How to allow IGMP in AVG Firewall

To configure the AVG Firewall to allow the IGMP follow the steps below:

A) Connect your device to the computer.

B) Disable area detection and automatic profile switch:
1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. In the left pane, click "Areas and Adapters profiles."
4. Select the "Disable area detection and automatic profile switch" check box, and then click Apply.

C) Create a safe network (this would be the device IP).

Skip this procedure if you already have a safe network configured in your Firewall.

1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. Select the firewall profile that you are using.
4. Click "Defined networks," and then click "Add network."
5. Type a short name for the network (for example Your_device).
6. Select the "Network is safe" check box.
7. Click "Add IP."
8. Fill in the needed values defining your local network (i.e. IP address of your device, or IP range of your local network).
9. Click OK.

D) Create a new system rule.
1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. In the left pane under Profiles, expand your firewall profile.
4. Click "System services," and then click "Manage user system rules."
5.Click Add, and then set the following data:

Protocol: IGMP (this option is under "Other known protocols")
Direction: Both ways
Remote address(es): Your safe network
Rule detail name: "DeviceName"

E) If the issue persists, send the AVG diagnostic data for further analysis to AVG Support.
1. Download runner.avgdx on this link:
http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/runner_en.exe

2. Open the AVG Program.
3. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
4. In the left pane under Profiles, select your firewall profile, and then click "System services."
5. Select the “Log unknown incoming traffic” check box, and then click OK.
6. Induce the issue again.
7. Run the "runner.avgdx" file once again.
8. Type your e-mail address and a detailed issue description into the appropriate areas.
9. Click "Diagnose and send results."

AVG Support should receive the logs for further analysis and contact you with further information.

How to Blacklist an IP Address with AVG Firewall

To block incoming and outgoing traffic related to a particular IP address or range of IP addresses, follow these steps:
1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. In the left tree menu, expand your current profile, and then click "Defined networks."
4. In the "Networks" column, double-click the "IP addresses blacklist" row, and then click "Add network."
5. Type a name into the "Network name" field, and then click "Add IP."
6. Click "One IP address," and then fill in the following value (for a single IP address):

<Blocked IP address>

You can also block a range of IP addresses by clicking "IP address range," and then filling in the needed values.

7. Save all changes by clicking OK.

How to allow blocked communication with AVG Firewall

To allow the blocked communication, proceed as follows:

1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. Locate the profile you use in the left navigation tree, and then click "System services."
4. Click "Manage user system rules."
5. In the new window, click Add.
6. Under "Rule detail name," type a name for the service.
7. Specify the desired values for:

- Protocol ****, direction IN, local port(s) XXXX, remote port(s) XXXX, remote address(es) XXXX
- Protocol ****, direction OUT, local port(s) XXXX, remote port(s) XXXX, remote address(es) XXXX

8. In the "Allow for all" option, click "Allow for safe."
9. Confirm all changes by clicking OK.

How to open a specific port in AVG Firewall

Follow these steps to allow a specific port:

1. Open the AVG Program.
2. On the Tools menu, click "Firewall settings."
3. In the left tree menu under Profiles, expand the profile you are currently using.
4. Click "System services."
5. Click "Manage user system rules," and then click Add.
6. In the new window, for "protocol," select "TCP"
7. For "direction," select "Both ways," and then click OK.
8. For "local port(s)," click "User selected ports; check a port in the list or add your own to the edit box", type the port you need to open, and then click OK.
9. For "remote port(s)," select "All ports (0 - 65535)," and then click OK.
10. For "remote address(es)," select "All Networks," and then click OK.
11. Confirm all windows by clicking OK.